Tamim Iqbal, the senior Bangladesh batter, expressed his view that it “did not look good” to call back Ish Sodhi after he was run-out backing up at the non-striker’s end during the second ODI against New Zealand in Mirpur. Sodhi, on the other hand, praised Bangladesh for their sportsmanship in calling him back to the crease and commended captain Litton Das for handling the situation exceptionally.
Tamim acknowledged that it’s within the rules of the game but suggested that the team needs to decide whether they want to utilize this mode of dismissal in the future. He stated that the team would discuss the matter internally and make a collective decision regarding whether to take such wickets or not.
The incident occurred in the 46th over when Hasan Mahmud dislodged the bails in his bowling stride while Sodhi was backing up early. The on-field umpire referred the decision to the TV umpire, who confirmed that Sodhi was out of his crease when the bails were broken. Sodhi initially walked off but was called back by Litton Das, and he returned to the crease.
Sodhi, who was batting at 17 off 26 balls at the time, later scored 18 off 13 balls, contributing to New Zealand’s total of 254. With the ball, he delivered a match-winning performance, taking 6 for 39.
Sodhi appreciated Bangladesh’s sportsmanship in the matter and expressed his gratitude for the gesture. He emphasized the importance of maintaining the spirit of the game, especially in competitive international cricket.
While Sodhi acknowledged that it’s within the rules of the game, he mentioned that he personally wouldn’t attempt such a run-out as a bowler. He believes that the incident highlights the ongoing debate over the practice of running out non-strikers backing up early, often referred to as “Mankading.”